PDA

View Full Version : Need help on install conditions...



getnandu
06-29-2004, 07:20 AM
Hi!

I am having troubles setting up the condition for installing my product.

Don't want the product to be installed on Windows 95 or Windows NT having SP less than 3. The condition I am trying to set is

(Version 9x < 410) Or ((VersionNT = 400) And (ServicePackLevel < 3))

This condition is being executed even on the Windows2000 w/ SP 4 and gives me err message which I provided w/ my condition.
What am I doing wrong ?

Also, is the below condition OK (Min requirement RAM > 32MB)

PhysicalMemory< 32000

I would really appreciate if someone helps me out here.


Regards
Nandu

TsungH
06-29-2004, 12:17 PM
The install conditions are in LaunchCondition Table (http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/msi/setup/launchcondition_table.asp), which contains a list of conditions that all must be satisfied for installation to begin.

Properties are case-sensitive, Version9X is not Version 9x.

Tim Mayert
01-31-2005, 02:32 PM
I am trying to wrap my head around the TRUE/FALSE condition of this.

I do not want my install to run if the user is running NT with service pack < 6

So I first have the condition set to:
(VersionNT=400) And (ServicePackLevel < 6)

But since the install will only start on TRUE statements this will be false on XP. So If I change it to
(VersionNT<>400) And (ServicePackLevel < 6)
then this is true for XP/2000, but false for any version of NT so should it be

((VersionNT=400) Or ( VersionNT=400 )) And (ServicePackLevel < 6)

I am just trying to sound it out, so if this is correct then okay, but if it is not then what would satisfy the condition?

getnandu
01-31-2005, 02:43 PM
I use this condition for my installation.
We don't allow the product to be installed if user is using Win95 OR WinNT w/ SP < 6.




(VersionNT = 400 AND ServicePackLevel = 6 ) Or VersionNT > 400 Or Version9X >=410


Hope it helps

Tim Mayert
01-31-2005, 02:43 PM
Actually looking at this now that I posted it I have the second condition set wrong. I think it should be:

(VersionNT<>400) || ((VersionNT=400) And (ServicePackLevel = 6))

If this is still wrong let me know.

Thanks,