PDA

View Full Version : Found a Bug



marco204
10-25-2001, 01:52 PM
hello,

today I've installed my InstallShield Express Version 3.

I do want to create a installation for our programm written in Java.

The installation works fine but after installation the created link to start our software was wrong.

In InstallShieldExpress3 I entered:
%JAVA_HOME%\bin\java.exe -classpath tt.jar de.ieducation.traintool.adminclient.TrainTool

After successful installation the link is:
"D:\%JAVA_HOME%\bin\\javaw.exe -classpath tt.jar de.ieducation.traintool.adminclient.TrainTool"

3 Things are wrong:
at the beginning: "D:\
at the end: "
at \bin\\javaw.exe: the doublebackslash

why is the link converted into this nonsense?

what can I do?

I need help very quickly

Thnx,
Marco Schmitz

Germany

Chandima
10-29-2001, 10:25 AM
Is this Express 3.03 or 3.51?

What exactly is %JAVA_HOME%? Is this an environment variable which contains a path? Are you distributing Java.exe with your setup? If so it'll be better to create the shortcut using INSTALLDIR.

marco204
10-29-2001, 01:26 PM
It's Express 3.03 German.
I had a try on Express 3.51 Evaluation but it's the same :(

%JAVA_HOME% is a environment variable set to the JaveRuntimeEnvironment.

set JAVA_HOME=C:\Programme\JavaSoft\JRE\1.3.1

No, I don't distrubute Java with my setup.

To execute the JAR I need java.exe. And it's user specific where it is installed. Therefor I use %JAVA_HOME%\bin\java.exe.

Greetings,
Marco Schmitz

Chandima
10-30-2001, 10:25 AM
Hmm.

What if you enter the target as

[%JAVA_HOME]bin\java.exe

Also instead of putting the rest of the parameteres here, try adding them in "Command Line" property. According to Windows Installer this SHOULD work :)

marco204
10-30-2001, 10:51 AM
okay, i tried you idea.

this is the result:

"E:\%JAVA_HOMEbin\java.exe " tt.jar de.ieducation.traintool.adminclient.TrainTool^

and that's complete rubbish ;)

got some other ideas?

Marco

Chandima
10-30-2001, 11:50 AM
Hmm.

Just create a shortcut with the target field set to

[%Comspec]

Build and install. Launching the shortcut should open the DOS window. If this happens this means that the shortcut actually resolves environment variables. I tried this and it works (on 3.51).

Do you set this JAVA_HOME environment variable from your project? Or is this a variable that is already defined on the machine?