PDA

View Full Version : Mac OSX authenticated installers

kollcook
05-28-2004, 10:48 AM
Hello,
I'm new to Install Shield. I was evaluating the software and we need to produce and installer that performs an MAC OSX authentication at the start (So the installer runs with admin priviledges). I haven't found a way to do this yet. Any Ideas?

thanks
Gary

Mike_W
06-02-2004, 11:07 AM
Hi Gary,

You can try using the Security Service's isUserAdmin. You can read the Security Service online documentation (http://helpnet.installshield.com/Robo/BIN/Robo.dll?mgr=agm&tpc=%2Frobo%2Fprojects%2Fisxuniversalhelplibrary%2Ftopics%2Fsecurity_service.htm&wnd=InstallShieldLivingHelp%7CMain&agt=wsm&ctxid=search%2Fgsearch.asp) which contains a code example that may be helpful.

The documentation states that the Service only works with UNIX and Windows. However it also works on Mac OSX. It basically checks to see if the user is equal to "root". I hope this is useful.

Mike

Mike_W
06-02-2004, 11:12 AM
Gary,

There is also a "Admin Condition" bean in the Bean Gallery (http://www.installshield.com/downloads/beans.asp?prod=mpf).

Mike

kollcook
06-02-2004, 12:36 PM
Unfortunately I don't think that will help. Since our installer needs to perform admin type things (write to protected directories) then our customers would be forced to use the sudo command (very few OSX users know what that means) or to install as root (again our customers won't know how to do that).

Our present install system simply prompts the user to enter their password and then the installer runs in a sudo-like state.

When I evaluated Multiplatform a couple of months ago I was told that it also didn't have this feature. InstallShield does look impressive and I would use it if it had this feature. Could you please submit it as a feature request for a future version?

thanks
Gary

Mike_W
06-03-2004, 11:14 AM
Hi Gary,