PDA

View Full Version : commandline vs. build-version



WWebber
05-28-2004, 05:31 AM
commandline fails with multiple languages when using a build version.

"C:\Program Files\InstallShield X\System\IsCmdBld.exe" -p "TEST.ism" -r "CDROM_IMAGE" -b "C:\temp\TEST\Media\CDROM_IMAGE"

builds all languages, but

"C:\Program Files\InstallShield X\System\IsCmdBld.exe" -p "TEST.ism" -r "CDROM_IMAGE" -b "C:\temp\TEST\Media\CDROM_IMAGE" -a "Build 123"

fails?!

RobertDickau
05-28-2004, 09:01 AM
I believe InstallScript projects don't use the "product configuration" that the /a switch specifies, only the release name specified by /r...

WWebber
05-28-2004, 09:44 AM
So you tell me I've to write an application for changing the XML ism? unbelieveable. i'm under the impression nothing changed since V6.x...

RobertDickau
05-28-2004, 09:53 AM
The Automation interface lets you change the product version in your project file; it's just that IsCmdBld.exe doesn't.

WWebber
05-28-2004, 10:05 AM
but can i do that from the commandline and use the version number from my software I'm going to setup?

RobertDickau
05-28-2004, 10:34 AM
Yes --- see this InstallShield newsletter tip for the general idea (though you'll need to change the ProgID used in the VBScript code): http://www.installshield.com/news/newsletter/0201-articles/product-version.asp.