PDA

View Full Version : Need custom bean help

williamsca
05-27-2004, 10:23 AM
I am very new to InstallShield and have also never written a piece of Java code in my life, but I find myself in a position where I need to write a custom bean for use in ISX.

Here's the scenario: A dialogue box prompts the installer to enter the location for CGI files. Let's say the user enters /opt/apache/cgi-bin and this information is put into a variable CGIDIR_S. I now need to create a file that will contain several lines of text, one of which includes everything after the last "/" from the location entered. For instance, the file might ultimately look like:

domain "default" {
session-dir "$PATH/data/tmp";
menu-dir "$PATH/common/admin";
cgi-url "/cgi-bin/admin.exe";
default-menu "login.mnu/login";
set-path "/opt/pmwa";
}

I know that I will probably need to use the split method of the String class to do the parsing. I have read the information in creating a custom bean in the Developer's Guide, but I honestly don't have a clue where to begin.

Has anyone written something similar or can point me to some online resource where I can find examples?

Thanks!

kflowers
06-02-2004, 02:53 PM
You can use the Custom Dialog edito to create a dialog to prompt the user for information. The custom dialog editor allows you to drag and drop UI components.

We can retrieve these values by using the $V String Resolver (i.e. $V(myvariable).

You can use the ASCII File Update Product/Wizard Action to write these valuse to file.

Please look in the User Guide in the section titled “Working with the Dialog Editor” for more information about using our custom Dialog editor.

cheers!

williamsca
06-03-2004, 07:41 AM
Hi Keith!