PDA

View Full Version : Most IS+MSI installations fails on Windows 2003

lansdale
05-27-2004, 04:02 AM
I didn't know which conference to post this message so I'll post it here since I'm a IS9 DevStudio developer. This is a generic problem and not a developer question.

On our upgraded Windows 2003 server we have not been able to install most MSI+IS installation packages for the last 2 months. I get error "1719". I spent much of the last 2 months scouring the world for information and have attempted all suggested fixes and work-arounds. Nothing has worked, and believe me I've tried almost everything.

Two days ago I brought Microsoft paid support services into the picture. We have spent 9 hours on the phone so far, and another 10 hours of my time thereafter digging around. So far I've stumped the best of their 4-5 people on this problem.

Being an IS and Windows developer I've been digging deep into this problem. Doing a MSI debug on the failing installations points the failure point as the Custom Action invocations. As a trivial example, the IS7 and IS8 "isscript.msi" files fail to install. See below for the snippet of logs which shows the failure point. The IS9 isscript.msi works because it does not have isscript.dll to register, as does the 7 and 8 versions.

--------------------------
MSI (s) (9C:C4): Executing op: InstallProtectedFiles(AllowUI=1)
MSI (s) (9C:C4): Executing op: ActionStart(Name=RegSvr,,)
MSI (s) (9C:C4): Executing op:
CustomActionSchedule(Action=RegSvr,ActionType=3073,Source=BinaryData,Target=RegisterISDriverFiles,)
MSI (s) (9C:34): Invoking remote custom action. DLL:
E:\WINNT\Installer\MSI66.tmp, Entrypoint: RegisterISDriverFiles
MSI (s) (9C:3C): Generating random cookie.
MSI (s) (9C:3C): Created Custom Action Server with PID 2084 (0x824).
MSI (s) (9C:88): Running as a service.
*****>>>>>**** MSI (s) (9C:88): Custom Action Server rejected - Unknown
Process.
--------------------------------