PDA

View Full Version : Use DLL to add a local user group

ottoyu
05-26-2004, 08:52 AM
Hi:

We have created a standard Windows DLL with a method called addGroup. I am trying to use the Custom Action to call that method in that DLL. But I tried it several different way and still can't get it work. Usually I got an error message said "Can't find the DLL file." Then I included that DLL into my ProgramFileFolder so it will get copy to the target system. The last one I tried still getting "Internal Error 2762" during Removing Backup files.

Can anyone show me what should be the right way to use a DLL in the Custom Action? I am new to InstallShield. Please be detail if possible.

Thank you for the help.

Regards,
Otto

MichaelU
05-26-2004, 10:23 AM
Hello Otto,

Have you seen this help document (http://helpnet.installshield.com/Robo/BIN/Robo.dll?tpc=/robo/projects/installshieldxhelplib/IHelpInsertCARulesDLL.htm) which discusses various places you can include your DLL, and what restrictions on sequencing the custom action are imposed by each of those places?

Michael

ottoyu
05-26-2004, 11:44 AM
Michael:

Thanks for your help and pointing to the right document. I followed the way on the document: Installed DLL, Immediate Execution Scheduling and After InstallFinalize Sequence. But I got the error message " File <path of the dll> can not be found. Make sure the file is on target system or installed already." I checked the drive on the target system and saw the dll file is in that folder.
Do you know why I am getting that error?

Again, thank you for your help.

Regards,
Otto

MichaelU
05-26-2004, 06:01 PM
Otto,
So while the error message is on the screen you can go to that exact path and see the file present? What kind of custom action do you have? Perhaps attach a screenshot.

Michael

ottoyu
05-27-2004, 08:01 AM
Michael:

Yes, while I got the error, I checked the Explorer and saw the DLL file has been moved by InstallShield into the right directory.