PDA

View Full Version : not replacing/removing files



bfigas
05-19-2004, 06:54 AM
Hello All,

I have following problem.
During upgrade old files are not replaced by new. Old files (dlls, exe, arx etc) have version 5.1.0.3. New files have version 5.1.0.9.
After upgrade I still have version 5.1.0.3.
Second problem is that after uninstall product I still have files on disk.

Some time ago I have simmilar problem but I reinstall Windows and everything was fine. Now I have the same problem and I don't know how to solve it. Additional my clients have the same problem and I cannot ask them to reinstall Windows.

Any Idea?? Please help me!!!

Bart

_doog_
05-21-2004, 08:46 AM
there was once an issue that only the first three numbers of the version are used to determine the state of a file
so if your version differs only in the third number, windows installer may consider these files as equal.

i do not know whether this still applies, but it would be an explanation for your problem

BernardC
05-24-2004, 09:37 AM
Hi Bart,

I do not have any problem for making my old files replaced by new ones and their version number only differs in forth value.
(I work on NT,W2000 and XP system).

In DevStudio 9 you must indicate which is your overwrite status .
Default value is "overwrite by version then date" . Is it what you get when you select "overwrite" option in Components window ?

Bernard .

bfigas
05-25-2004, 03:29 AM
Hi BernardC,

I cannot find such option in my component options list ... Maybe I'm blind ...

B

BernardC
05-25-2004, 04:01 AM
Well,

I work with DevStudio 9 and my projects are InstallScript Projects.
When I select Components item (under Organization) I can see my components list on the right. Then if I select any component in this list, I can see on the right this component installation properties: Destination,Shared,Uninstall,..... and Overwrite.


Bernard

bfigas
05-25-2004, 04:26 AM
I have also DevStudio 9 but I have Installscript/MSI project and I don't have overwrite option ...
See attached picture

BernardC
05-25-2004, 04:49 AM
I don't get same thing because I do not use InstallScript MSI project (only InstallScript project).
Sorry Bart.

Bernard.