PDA

View Full Version : Dependices



colin_turner99
05-18-2004, 02:59 AM
Hi

I have 4 apps in my setup

3 of them have common dependices but when i enable selective app installing it does not install all the dependices for the app selected

Is there an option to enable all dependices for each app so it will install all dependices

Also how do i move the order of the screens

I am installing MSDE as part of my setup and i need to import a database using the "SQL Servers" how do i get that to run after the setup has installed MSDE

I am using Installshield X

Thanks in advance


Colin

David Thornley
05-18-2004, 11:35 AM
If you use the MSDE Setup Prerequisite then MSDE will be installed before your applications installation even starts.

colin_turner99
05-19-2004, 02:33 AM
If i add the "SQL Server" to import the database

that happens before the MSDE is installed how do i change the order

David Thornley
05-19-2004, 09:04 AM
If you use the MSDE Setup Prerequisite instead of the MSDE merge moule then MSDE will be installed before your setup even starts.

colin_turner99
05-19-2004, 09:07 AM
But MSDE only need to be installed if the server option is selected in the setup

it doesnt need to be installed on the client computers

johnludlow
05-19-2004, 09:41 AM
You could replicate the actions of the Prerequisite (basically, launching the MSDE setup application) from a custom action.

Personally, I include the prerequisite on the CD and tell the users they need to run it before running our setup. Much safer.