PDA

View Full Version : Multi Feature Install

Ontarget
05-17-2004, 03:05 AM
I'm new to Installshield and my company has given me the task of packaging the latest realease of our product suite, the old version was using InstallShield 5.5. I'm evaluating version X to see if it is suitable.
Just to give a view of what I'm trying to achieve before I start asking for help with the problems I am having:
We have 5 Vb6 applications, 1 .Net WEb Site and 2 .Net Applications to package, an SQL database to create and initialise with script, each feature should be individually selectable, MDAC 2.7 and Internet Explorer are required for certain features(and obviously .net framework for the .net apps).
Ok the problems I am having are:

If I select setup dependancies of MDAC 2.7 & Internet Explorer, I cannot seem to make these dependant only when certain features are selected to install, it is global for the whole release?

If it detects that the dependancy doesn't exist then it doesn't give an option to install it, it just stops the installation after telling the user that MDac is not installed!

I don't want .Net framework installed if the .net feature has not been selected (.Net seems to only be able to be installed in the Releases section?)

The SQL login screen is shown before any features are selected, I only want the SQL login to be shown when the database create feature is selected?

Any help would be appreciated!

mberterm
06-07-2004, 03:10 PM
If I select setup dependancies of MDAC 2.7 & Internet Explorer, I cannot seem to make these dependant only when certain features are selected to install, it is global for the whole release?

>> By associating the merge modules with a feature in the Redistributables view, their components will only be selected for installation if the feature is selected

mberterm
06-07-2004, 03:13 PM