PDA

View Full Version : Environment variables



havard
05-04-2004, 12:17 AM
Is there a way to set or modify environment variables without using of registry functions (RegDB...) and restart requirement ?
Thank you.

sogilvie
05-04-2004, 02:52 PM
you can try this <online help info>

Open the Environment Variables view.

Right-click the root of the Environment Variables tree and select Add Environment Variable from the context menu.

A new environment variable appears with the default name NewEnvironmentVariableX (where X is a number). Type the name of the variable you want to modify, remove, or create.

Edit the environment variable's properties in the property sheet in the pane to the right.

look for this online help section: Environment Variable Properties
hope this helps...

havard
05-04-2004, 11:40 PM
Have you ever tried to follow that advice ?:))))
There is no such view inthe INstallScript projects it is only foy Window Installer.

sogilvie
05-05-2004, 09:47 AM
I am using an InstallScript MSI Project, which gives me both worlds, InstallScripting and the MSI projects
Under the system configuration there is the environment variables