PDA

View Full Version : ERROR 1628 and autorun



G Everett
12-01-2003, 11:33 AM
If I run my install using autorun it fails with error 1628 but if I start it manually by double clicking on setup.exe it is successful. It looks like the install is being started twice. I was able to simulate this by double clicking on setup.exe twice to get a second install started and it failed in the same manner as the autorun.

How can I prevent this? Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks.

-gregg

lsmeteor
12-01-2003, 12:16 PM
What is your autorun.inf like?

Mine is extremely simple:


[autorun]
OPEN=setup.exe
ICON=someicon.ico

Created manually and no problem with it.

G Everett
12-01-2003, 12:28 PM
Thanks for the reply. The contents of my autorun.inf is simply:

[autorun]
OPEN=setup.exe

This is generated by default by installshield. As an added complication this same install, started with autorun, works OK on some machines but fails on others. It will always work when not using the autorun file.

I think I can work around the problem by detecting if idriver.exe is running and then cancel the install. This would terminate the second instance of the installation that was started for some reason but I'm not yet sure how to go about detecting if this is running.