PDA

View Full Version : Crystal 9 and error 2763



Muhammad Gigani
11-07-2003, 02:23 PM
I am new Dev. 9 and have vb6 project that uses Crystal 9. I have added the object and it had asked me for the key which I have added as well. When I go install this project, I get a 2763 error. Can some one help me. I have used Pro 7 and Crystal 8 before and had no problem. I may have bit on more than I can chew.

Chandima
11-07-2003, 05:56 PM
Which of the following do you have installed on your computer (the one with DevStudio)?

1. Crystal Reports 9.0.
2. Crystal Reports 9.2.
3. Visual Studio .NET 2002.
4. Visual Studio .NET 2003.

Muhammad Gigani
11-08-2003, 08:09 AM
I have VB6 and Crystal 9.0. The problem is with a VB6 project created using the vb6 wizard(script version). I do have VB.Net 2002 install on this machine as well.

Thanks.

Chandima
11-10-2003, 12:33 PM
Look in your release location. In one of the subfolders, there should be a file with a extension of .msi. When you find this file, double-click on it to run it. This is the Windows Installer setup file that installs Crystal Reports 9. Does it install without any problems or does it cause errors? If it causes errors, what is the error number?

Muhammad Gigani
11-10-2003, 12:45 PM
I got this from one of your tech support people:

From: Philip Hong
Sent: 11/10/03 @ 7:48 AM PST

Muhammad,

Sorry for the wait. After looking into this issue, we have verified that this is a "bug" with the merge module object and the Crystal 9 merge module in particular. A bug work order has been created on this (1-G5VU9) and it looks like it's been fixed for the next service pack for DevStudio 9, which should be released within a week or so.

However, there is a manual workaround available and I am trying to get more information on that. I'll update you with this information as soon as I get it.

Once again I apologize for the wait, and I hope this helps.

Phil H.

Chandima
11-10-2003, 12:50 PM
Thanks for sharing that. I read the work order and it does make sense. As mentioned, the Service Pack should fix this problem.