PDA

View Full Version : Inuse?



jarjarv
10-17-2003, 08:22 AM
Sometimes when one tries to register an OCX or DLL with RegSvr, it fails because the DLL is current being used by a virus killer or similar application. In these cases one has to use Microsoft's InUse command.

Does InstallShield know when a DLL registration fails? Does it use InUse in those cases or do I have to script it?

DevinEllingson
10-18-2003, 03:27 AM
jarjarv,

No, we dont use "In Use". Can you provide more information about this tool (i.e.) a link the MS docs about it.

Thanks,
Devin Ellingson
InstallShield Software Corporation

jarjarv
10-20-2003, 04:50 AM
Hi,

Here's some basic info:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/techinfo/reskit/tools/existing/inuse-o.asp