PDA

View Full Version : setup.exe parameter



LAlexander
10-14-2003, 03:00 AM
i start a setup.exe from the Script as following:

LaunchAppAndWait(INSTALLDIR^ "\\Install\\Setup.exe","/w /s /v\"/qn\"",LAAW_OPTION_WAIT);

The setup works proberly. But if I want to set the INSTALLDIR like follwoing:

"/w /s /v\"/qn INSTALLDIR=" + INSTALLDIR + "\""

the setup will not be started. Have anybody an idea whats wrong? i don't see any mistake??

thanks

RichAquino
10-15-2003, 09:15 AM
Hi,

My guess is that INSTALLDIR is a long path.

I think your command line should look like this...

/w /s /v"/qn INSTALLDIR=\"c:\my installdir\""

Note that I really want the \" to be passed in to setup.exe.

Escaped, this string becomes:
/w /s /v\"/qn INSTALLDIR=\\\"c:\\my installdir\\\"\"

I would suggest that you first try to get the command line working from outside script. Then, work on getting the proper escape sequences.

Rich

LAlexander
10-16-2003, 02:06 AM
that works great
thanks alex