PDA

View Full Version : Ask for BDE installation



NewsArchive
05-13-1997, 12:00 AM
Is there any way I can get ISX to ask if it should install the BDE before
it actually installs it? I would like to have it as a component that people
could chose and thus I would only have to make one installation program.
This is since there usually is no need to install the BDE on the servers
that should only contain the programs. Also this would help alot since then
my customers could use this setup to only install the BDe on the clients by
chosing a client setup or something similair.

Michael Irving

ps. What version of ISX is delivered with Delphi 3 Professional? And what
is the difference from the Professional version?

NewsArchive
05-13-1997, 12:00 AM
Hello!
1) Express will check for an existing version of each file copied to
directory. If the file contains version information, it will replace an
existing file only if the file you have included with your installation has
a later version number. If the file on the target system has the same or
later version number as the file included with your setup, the file will
not be updated, regardless of the dates on the files.
2) You can also use SETUP Type dialog box to install only needed files.
Regards. Max.

Michael Irving <laric@laric.com> wrote in article
<01bc5fe8$445b0b40$0a6464c0@ikna-3>...
> Is there any way I can get ISX to ask if it should install the BDE before
> it actually installs it? I would like to have it as a component that
people
> could chose and thus I would only have to make one installation program.
> This is since there usually is no need to install the BDE on the servers
> that should only contain the programs. Also this would help alot since
then
> my customers could use this setup to only install the BDe on the clients
by
> chosing a client setup or something similair.
>
> Michael Irving
>
> ps. What version of ISX is delivered with Delphi 3 Professional? And what
> is the difference from the Professional version?
>
>

NewsArchive
08-11-1997, 12:00 AM
Will it automatically find an existing BDE on the system, or will it
simply install it to <Program Files>/Borland/Common files/BDE?

I am finding the later the truth, and then neither one of my bde config
executables seem to work properly.



InstallShield Corp. wrote:

> Hello!
> 1) Express will check for an existing version of each file copied to
> directory. If the file contains version information, it will replace
> an
> existing file only if the file you have included with your
> installation has
> a later version number. If the file on the target system has the same
> or
> later version number as the file included with your setup, the file
> will
> not be updated, regardless of the dates on the files.
> 2) You can also use SETUP Type dialog box to install only needed
> files.
> Regards. Max.
>
> Michael Irving <laric@laric.com> wrote in article
> <01bc5fe8$445b0b40$0a6464c0@ikna-3>...
> > Is there any way I can get ISX to ask if it should install the BDE
> before
> > it actually installs it? I would like to have it as a component that
>
> people
> > could chose and thus I would only have to make one installation
> program.
> > This is since there usually is no need to install the BDE on the
> servers
> > that should only contain the programs. Also this would help alot
> since
> then
> > my customers could use this setup to only install the BDe on the
> clients
> by
> > chosing a client setup or something similair.
> >
> > Michael Irving
> >
> > ps. What version of ISX is delivered with Delphi 3 Professional? And
> what
> > is the difference from the Professional version?
> >
> >



--
______________________________________________
TJay Belt TJay@enol.Com

- What you are to be, you are now becoming.