PDA

View Full Version : Norton Firewall conflict



roysharp
09-01-2003, 04:53 AM
Hi,
The product update service hangs when Norton Personal Firewall is running. By temporarily disabling the 'internet security' the update works fine.
When the firewall is active it also has the effect of displaying some of the HTML source in the IEXPLOREr windows it displays.

I have logged this to save other poor souls the hour or two I have just wasted.

Can it be fixed as I don't really like dropping my guard and other update services seem to cope quite happily.

Cheers

Chris Woerner
09-02-2003, 09:37 AM
I am surprised to hear that you are having an issue. The Update Service uses standard HTTP port 80 for all communication. To your firewall, it should appear as standard web traffic.

Can you provide more information so that we can try to reproduce the issue here....

Version of Norton Software:
Your configuration settings:
What product where you using that used the Update Service:

roysharp
09-11-2003, 10:21 AM
sorry for the delay - I also had an email from Deepak Jain, InstallShield Technical Support

I sent him the following (with screen shots) ...

-------------------------
Hmmm,

Ok it won’t crash now! I have been in IT for 30 years so I would have bet a lot of money on this happening J



However what did happen was …

The small ‘scan for updates’ window took 20 minutes

Then it displayed

a pop- up window with "Script error Line 2 Position 0 L>"


I clicked OK and the list of updates was displayed but


</HTML displayed under "Available updates"


These two messages were logged by the firewall after dwusplay.exe started

TCP non-syn/non-ack packet on invalid connection. Packet has been dropped.
Source IP address: saturn.installshield.com(67.106.83.105)
Source Port http(80
Destination Port: 1494
message flags 0x00000010


and

Default Block Microsoft Windows 2000 SMB
Inbound TCP connection


I am now running installshield with SP1 which I obviously wasn’t before (as that was what I downloaded).



I hope that this helps.



I have also attached a second email I received on the problem, maybe you could liaise to avoid duplication (I probably logged it twice somehow).



Roy