PDA

View Full Version : Interval Updates?



thesven
08-29-2003, 09:24 AM
Do you have to open the application in order for an update check to be performed?
Can the agent sit in the background checking at a timed interval and transparently download the update and install it then notify the user this has been done?

Do you have control over what the end user dialog states if in fact you can do this?

Thanks

Chris Woerner
08-29-2003, 10:00 AM
The short answer is that you can do what you describe. Let me explain in detail.....


First, the agent is not a service, so it won't sit in the background and run once per day looking for updates. The agent is simply an EXE that can be called from any application. Normally, people integrate the call to the Agent into their application. However, you could certainly have an application running as a service that wakes up once per day and does a check. Another option is to have a small application that calls the Agent that is put in to the Windows scheduler that is run once per day.

thesven
08-29-2003, 10:04 AM
Thanks for the info. Couldn't you just pop the exe in the startup group and it would check for update this way?

thesven
08-29-2003, 10:06 AM
Our application requires a "weekly" update that is performed transparent to the user but prompted by a dialog when it is installed and completed. I am assuming that this is possible based on your previous answer.

Chris Woerner
08-29-2003, 10:57 AM
Sure, you certainly could just put an EXE in the start-up that calls the Agent. The only downside is that things in the start-up are more easily removed by an end-user than a service or something in the scheduler.

In terms of your UI experience....

You can call the ISUS using:

enum() - finds available updates
download() - brings down the update silently
execute - will run the update (can be silent or with UI)

I wasn't quite sure what you meant by "prompted by a dialog when it is installed and completed". Do you mean after the update is installed, you just want to tell customer that you did it? If so, you could put that in the EXE that calls the Agent or maybe it might be easier to put it in the update itself.