PDA

View Full Version : Trying to validate serial number using a VB DLL with one function or a custom action

knotslanding
08-25-2003, 07:14 PM
Hello,

I am posting this message in hope someone can help me. First, my apology but I am new to Install Shield Express 4. I also apologize for the length of this message, but I didn’t want to leave anything out. Sorry for any inconvenience.

I thank you in advance for your help.

I have created an ActiveX DLL in Visual Basic 6 to validate serial numbers. My serial number is a 32 character field. I have set the following properties in Install Shield Express 4.:

Show Serial Number = YES
Serial Number Template = ????????-????-????-????-????????????
Each character is alphanumeric.
Serial Number Validation DLL = C:\Serial Number\SerialNumberValidation.dll

I created an ActiveX DLL project in Visual Basic with one function named ValidateSerialNumber that takes one string parameter. Here is part of my code. I have abbreviated some of the code and removed part of the ADO connection. I basically pass in a string of characters, look up that string in a database to make sure it exists, and if it does exists, then pass back a one for success. If unsuccessful, then pass back a zero. I also do some other things as well, but that isn’t important.

**Function declared in a class named clsSerialNumber in an Active X DLL project named SerialNumberValidation*****

Public Function ValidateSerialNumber(strInput As String) As Byte
Dim parRecordset As ADODB.Recordset
Dim parCommand As ADODB.Command
Dim param As ADODB.Parameter
On Error GoTo ValidateSerialNumber_Err
strInput = "{" & strInput & "}" ‘add leading and trailing {} to the input parameter because the field expects it.

Dim StrGUID As String
‘*********** removed ADO connection settings, connect to a SQL Server database.
Set parRecordset = New ADODB.Recordset
Set parCommand = New ADODB.Command

parCommand.CommandType = adCmdStoredProc
parCommand.CommandText = "VCVCIS_Lookup"