PDA

View Full Version : DLL registration/unregistration during upgrade



Rosemary
08-06-2003, 10:42 AM
I have a file group to install dlls and the self-registered property is set to Yes. This setting will register the dll(s) on install and unregister them on uninstall. But what happens during an upgrade?

The overwrite property in the file group is set to Newer version then newer date. But is the older dll first unregistered, overwritten, then the new dll registered? After reading this article (http://community.installshield.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=95553&highlight=unregister+AND+dll) I wonder whether the old dll is unregistered before the new dll is copied, and I wonder is the new DLL registered?

Thanks in advance for any information you can provide.