PDA

View Full Version : Product Action Install



robheim
06-04-2003, 02:04 PM
I'm hoping there is a simple answer to this question.

Right now, I'm trying to get around launching an MSI based install program inside my install application.

I've created 3 Product Actions

The first copies the MSI file into a temporary directory
The second executes the command file (thus launching the install program)
The third action deletes the temporary file from the directory.

Now, I've got each component working individually, but I can't get all three actions to fire. Only my first Action is being called.

This is a rather simple install program which has only 1 Feature and 1 Component.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

-Rob

kflowers
06-05-2003, 05:22 PM
Hello,

Are you using a Exec Product Action and if so is it after your files bean and before the delete Files bean? If you are using an Exec Product Action then make sure you have "Wait For Completion" property set to true.

Another approach is to use a wait Product action in between each of you actions.


cheers,


Keith

robheim
06-05-2003, 08:15 PM
It turns out there was some kind of problem between the Component configured under the Feature I was working with.

When I deleted the component and feature and re-added them. This seems to have resolved the strange behavior I was seeing.

Sometimes I guess you have to start from scratch.

Rob