PDA

View Full Version : exe bean and batch files



Ken Alverson
05-29-2003, 10:52 AM
I am trying to execute a batch file using a wizard exec bean. There are two problems. The first is that I can see the DOS shell when it is launched. The second problem is that the arguments passed in are incorrect. It appears that the path is wrong. Do string resolvers work in the arguments? I am trying to do a cd to parameter $1 at $PATH($P(absoluteInstallLocation)). I need to explode some war and jar files in the installed location.

Jeff Dillon
05-29-2003, 11:17 AM
The Exec action should be resolving its arguments. (You can see in the code in the samples directory.)

What happens if you simply echo $1?

>I need to explode some war and jar files in the installed location.

You may want to check out Expand Archive bean at...

http://www.installshield.com/downloads/beans.asp?prod=mpf

It automatically uzips a zip file into a specified directory. It also does disk space checking, rollback support, and other good stuff.

Ken Alverson
05-30-2003, 07:29 AM
Originally posted by Jeff Dillon
The Exec action should be resolving its arguments. (You can see in the code in the samples directory.)

What happens if you simply echo $1?

>I need to explode some war and jar files in the installed location.

You may want to check out Expand Archive bean at...

http://www.installshield.com/downloads/beans.asp?prod=mpf

It automatically uzips a zip file into a specified directory. It also does disk space checking, rollback support, and other good stuff.

Thanks, the Expand Archive bean worked perfectly. We have just the right expanded structure we need now:)