PDA

View Full Version : Issues with ISMP & large installs

-omman-
05-06-2003, 10:29 AM
Hi folks - my first venture into the ISMP forums, wish me luck!

For starters, let me state that my background is Windows Installer - way back from the IPWI 2.* days, all the way up to Developer 7.*. There was always an issue with Windows Installer and its capabilities with our ever-increasing install sizes, and we finally met our limits (of patience as well!).

Let me state that our install is currently building w/ ISMP and I am quite pleased with the performance, given the size of the product. The installs take a bit longer than ISWI installs, but an accurate progress bar makes up for that - a novel concept for Windows users! ;) The uninstalls are superb, ranging under 5 min. for a 1+ GB install image.

But ... (isn't there always a "but"? :) )

As stated above the product (even with compression) is well over 650 MB, so its a 2-CD install - thus media spanning is a requirement. The build panel for ISMP (vs. Developer) is fairly (actually, 'extremely' is prob. a better choice of word) primitive compared to what I'm used to. The only options to support media spanning seem to be to select either custom archiving, or CD rom archive. We picked the latter, seeming the most logical.

The output of this method is a 'compressed' file for each file in our product. Given that our product is Java-based, we have a vast dir/file structure (com/.../.../.../.../<file>) - all in all, it adds up to 32K+ files in the install image!! Perhaps I've overlooked something, but I see no way to JAR + span.

The problem I'm hitting is two-fold - both stem from the media output of our build type, I suspect:

1) The product install from CD media is <painfully> slow - upwards of an hour (compared to avg. 30 min. from the hard drive). I believe this is due to the IO required for acessing all the compressed data.