PDA

View Full Version : MaxFileHandles in DBE Configuration



NewsArchive
04-02-1997, 01:00 AM
Could someone tell me why the MAXFILEHANDLES (BDE system Notepad) never
greater then 48 in INSTALLSHIELD exress 2.0 when i'm installing an
application on a pc that has never had a BDE before...?

Even if the configuration is changed, the installshield always replace
de current MaxFileHandles parameters with 48. Actually, i need 150!

The .CNF files contains certain information that maybe pertinente
concerning the MAXFILEHANDLES parameters but even when the change is
made, there is no difference.

Please,


J-F
Boulianne.jean-Francois@Tourisme.gouv.qc.ca

NewsArchive
06-09-1997, 12:00 AM
Hi,

1. In BDE alias step 3 of 4 you can change the default under
"List any optional parameters for the alias below" by using
MaxFileHandles=100
This will only work if it it's alias specific.
For testing purposes, if you drag the .cnf file onto Notepad.exe, search
for 48 and change the entry to 100 may produce results. I have to remind
you that this kind of hacking is not supported and if you do proceed on
with
it make sure you have backup of the file you are modifying.

2. Just confirmed this with the developers of Express, the installshield
install
will install the 32-bit BDE. Try using the Help file reference from the
Express
help option for additional information.

Thanks,
Dan

Jean-Françcois Boulianne <Boulianne.Jean-Francois@tourisme.gouv.qc.ca>
wrote in article <3342BEFE.545E@tourisme.gouv.qc.ca>...
> Could someone tell me why the MAXFILEHANDLES (BDE system Notepad) never
> greater then 48 in INSTALLSHIELD exress 2.0 when i'm installing an
> application on a pc that has never had a BDE before...?
>
> Even if the configuration is changed, the installshield always replace
> de current MaxFileHandles parameters with 48. Actually, i need 150!
>
> The .CNF files contains certain information that maybe pertinente
> concerning the MAXFILEHANDLES parameters but even when the change is
> made, there is no difference.
>
> Please,
>
>
> J-F
> Boulianne.jean-Francois@Tourisme.gouv.qc.ca
>

NewsArchive
12-23-1999, 01:00 AM
My point is that with MSDE and MSSQL 7.0 you could use some stored procedure
to attach/detach your datafile from a server (usign sp_attach or
sp_dettach). The main problem is to create the ADO Connection itself, I
haven't seen an equivalent to the Visual Basic CreateObject function....

It could be interesting using the ODK to create such an Object, I've started
it, but at the moment I'm a little too busy to finish it.....

Pascal


Yan Maniez <Y.Maniez@archimed.fr> wrote in message
news:3860d738.0@news.installshield.com...
> Perhaps you can use an ADO connection to create your database
> I have a VB program that executes SQL commands (CREATE DATABASE, CREATE
> TABLE, ...) throught ADO to create databases on MSDE (or SQL 7.0)
> I think you could use the CreateObject function to create your ADO
> connection and make it works.
>
> You can even connect your MSDE database to a single database file, because
> SQL 7.0 supports connecting/disconnecting SQL database files.
>
> Pascal Vitoux <nospam@please.merci> a écrit dans le message :
> 384f792f.0@news.installshield.com...
> > Hello,
> >
> > Microsoft is currently shipping a SQL Server lite version wich is
freely
> > redistribuable. It's name is MSDE.
> >
> > I'll like to have a MSDE Objects where I could specify where I've
stored
> a
> > SQL Server Database and that could install MSDE and create my database.
> >
> >
> > Thanks
> >
> > Pascal
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
12-15-2000, 01:00 AM
Tim and Steve,
Here's the code I use to install MSDE in my setup. It checks to see if MSDE
or SQL server is preinstalled, if it is it asks if you're sure you want to
continue. It then constructs a list of all the local hard drives to determine
the largest and asks the user if this is ok to put on that drive. Finally it
modifies MSDE's unattended install file and kicks of the install. Any questions
let me know.
Note: The function MSDEBASE is a dialogue box I made with Install Dialogue which
just allows the user to modify the path.

Mike Biracree
ADE Software, Inc
http://www.adesoftware.com

RegDBSetDefaultRoot ( HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE );
if (RegDBGetKeyValueEx ( "SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\MSSQLServer\\Setup",
"SQLPath" , nvType , svValue , nvSize )) = 0 then
MessageBox ( "SQL Server or MSDE is already installed on this machine." ,
WARNING );
nRes = AskYesNo ( "Do you wish to continue with this Installation Option?"
, NO );
if (nRes = NO) then
nResult = 0;
goto Dlg_ServerType;
endif;
endif;
listID = ListCreate (STRINGLIST);
svBigDrive="C";
if (GetValidDrivesList (listID, FIXED_DRIVE, 10000) < 0) then
// Report an error; then terminate.
MessageBox ("No Local Drives with Enough Space on them.", SEVERE);
abort;
endif;
ListGetFirstString ( listID , svDrvLtr );

lBigSize = GetDiskSpaceEx(svDrvLtr + ":",MBYTES);
nlistsize = ListCount(listID);
if nlistsize = 1 goto skiploop;
for x = 1 to nlistsize
lsize = GetDiskSpaceEx(svDrvLtr + ":",MBYTES);
if (lsize > lBigSize) then
svBigDrive = svDrvLtr;
lBigSize = lsize;
endif;
ListGetNextString ( listID , svDrvLtr );
endfor;
skiploop:
svMSDEBase = svBigDrive + ":\\MSSQL7";
ListDestroy(listID);
nResult = MSDEBase("",svMSDEBase);
if (nResult = BACK) goto Dlg_ServerType;

CopyFile ( SRCDIR ^"\\MSDE\\Install\\unattend.iss" , "C:\\unattend.iss" );
ReplaceProfString ( "C:\\unattend.iss" , "SetupTypeSQL-0" , "szDir" ,
"C:\\MSSQL7" , svMSDEBase );
ReplaceProfString ( "C:\\unattend.iss" , "SetupTypeSQL-0" , "szDataDir" ,
"C:\\MSSQL7" , svMSDEBase );
szMsg = "MSDE will now be installed, this can take up to 20 minutes. This box
will disappear once this part of the install is done.";
SdShowMsg ( szMsg , TRUE );
szCmdLine = "-a -f1 \"C:\\unattend.iss\"";
nLaunchRet = LaunchAppAndWait ( SRCDIR ^ "\\MSDE\\INSTALL\\MSDEX86.EXE" ,
szCmdLine , WAIT );
if (nLaunchRet < 0) then
MessageBox ( "MSDE was unable to Install. Please try manually installing
it.\nWA2000 Install must now abort." , SEVERE );
exit;
endif;


Tim Mayert wrote:

> I am in the same boat. I was just given a project plan that will use MSDE
> and connect to a SQL server. If you have received any information or I get
> more info then maybe we can share??
>
> Thanks,
>
> Tim.
>
> "Steven Singh" <steven.singh@caplin.com> wrote in message
> news:3a2faf21@12.41.20.38...
> > I am about to add to a current installshield project, the facility to
> > install the msde engine and then add a system dsn. If anyone has attempted
> > this before and has any tips, they would be greatly appeciated before i
> > start.
> >
> > Cheers
> > Steve.
> >
> >

NewsArchive
09-18-2001, 12:00 AM
Is this the MDAC 25 or MDAC 26 machine that is causing problems? Contacted
Offline.

"Ron Brewer" <ronb@pobox.com> wrote in message
news:3ba683f9@news.installshield.com...
> Forgot to mention that the two laptops are W2K machines and it is a
Novell
> network.
>
> Ron Brewer
>
>
> "Ron Brewer" <ronb@pobox.com> wrote in message
> news:3ba67ee9@news.installshield.com...
> > I have a package that installs and runs fine on a stand alone system.
We
> > put it on our LAN and it works fine, UNTIL a laptop is used off the
> network.
> > When off the network, the package trys to re-install after every re-boot
> or
> > when certain programs are loaded (such as IE). It is caught in a loop.
> >
> > One one laptop, we cannot un-install the package. Windows installer
won't
> > allow it. And it trys to reinstall even on the network. It was
installed
> > under the old MDAC.
> >
> > I assumed I was having the MDAC problem referenced to on this site. I
> > downloaded and installed the new MDAC and DCOM per the instructions and
> did
> > a new build. Still get the same results.
> >
> > Is this the MDAC problem? How do I get it un-installed from the one
> laptop?
> >
> > Ron Brewer
> >
> >
>
>