PDA

View Full Version : Shortcuts with MS Access 2000 Runtime

graeme jardin
01-09-2003, 11:28 AM
Hi,

I want to set up a shortcut that includes the path to the MS Access 2000 exe file (where ever it has been installed), with the name of the .mde file that I have installed as an argument.

I am new to Install Shield and have been trying to understand merge files, but so far have only produced a tired brain.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
Graeme.

Chandima
01-09-2003, 12:26 PM
You are using Express 4.0 right? If so try the following:

1. Go to Requirements View
2. Right click and launch the new software requirement wizard
3. Press Next
4. Select "Folder path, by searching for a specific file in all drives" and Press Next5. Configure as follows:

File Name: MsAccess.exe
Number of Sub Folder levels to search: 10

6. Press Next
7. Press Finish -> This should create a new node named "MSACCESS" with a green check mark
8. Click on the check box till it comes to the "empty box" state
9. Go to Shortcuts View
10. Create a new "Shortcut to a Pre-existing file". This will launch a dialog
12. In this dialog, create a root level folder named "MyTest". Set it's "Directory Identifier" property to "MSACCESS". Set the "File Name" to "Msaccess.exe". Press OK.
13. Put the path to your mdb file in the "Arguments" column
14. Build and install

graeme jardin
01-09-2003, 01:37 PM
Thanks Chandima,

That works. It also manages to find the correct access runtime version of access (I also have 97 and XP installed on my PC).

Is it intelligent enough to always find the version that was just installed or is there a danger that it may find the wrong version of msaccess.exe and put a link to that?

Graeme.

Chandima
01-09-2003, 03:17 PM
Currently it just performs a search and uses the first msaccess.exe it comes across. I doubt there will be more than one file on any system though. If you want the search to pick out one particular version of the file: