PDA

View Full Version : MDAC Is Installed Condition



CurtBlackmon
11-29-2002, 07:15 AM
What version of MDAC does this condition check for?

Is there a variable that's returned that I can get access to and, if there is, what and how do I access it?

Curt

MarcoHeineck
11-29-2002, 12:07 PM
Hi Curt,

I believe that it just checks if MDAC is installed at all.

The MDAC version is held in the registry in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\DataAccess\FullInstallVer

You can use [MDACFOUND] to access this value.

Hope it helps,
Marco

Chandima
12-02-2002, 06:11 PM
That's right. It's just a generic check. If you put the attached (rename to ini) file in the "Searches" folder of Express (replace the existing one), create a new project and select the MDAC search, it will specifically search for MDAC 2.6 Sp2.

To change the version of MDAC simply edit the following section of the ini file by inserting the version number you want.

[ExpressCondition0409]
Name=MDAC is Installed
Condition=MDACFOUND="2.62.7400.1"

CurtBlackmon
12-02-2002, 06:47 PM
Chandima,

Thanks for the reply.

As you can see from my post I'm new at Express 4.0 and will probably have a number of posts in the near future.

Regards,

Curt

Chandima
12-03-2002, 12:57 PM
CurtBlackmon:

You were the user at the webinar who wanted the MDAC search property right? Since you got the answer here we didn't email it to you as we promised. Hope that's alright :).

CurtBlackmon
12-03-2002, 02:06 PM
Chandima,

No problem! I've already updated the .ini file.

Thanks!

Curt

karl k
07-02-2003, 05:55 AM
is this all true for isx 4 sp1? there is a file in the searches folder named mdac26found.ini. And this file checks for the presence of which mdac version? is there a minimum requirement?

Chandima
07-07-2003, 06:23 PM
This thread originated for Express 4.0 (without the service pack). This thread inspired us to make a specific MDAC version check. We made it for MDAC 2.7 because it's the latest. Mdac26found.ini just checks to see if ANY version of MDAC is installed.

karl k
07-08-2003, 06:42 AM
that seems not to be true for mdac 2.1 and earlier.
mdac 2.5 seems to be the earliest mdac that is recognized as mdac?

Chandima
07-09-2003, 11:49 AM
Possibly. The search just looks at the value of "FullInstallVer" in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DataAccess. I know that MDAC 2.5 and above use this key. Not sure whether MDAC 2.1 writes it's value to this location though.

karl k
07-10-2003, 11:01 AM
ahve tested mdac 2.0 and mdac 2.1.
both versions are not recognized as mdac by mdac26.ini search.
so mdac 2.5 seems to be the minimum requirement.

thanks
karl

PilotBob
08-07-2003, 01:12 PM
This doesn't work an an XP machine. Since 2.7 is inheriently installed, it doesn't seem to have that regi key.

Is there any update to this or any way I can fix it?

Thanks,
BOb

Chandima
08-13-2003, 06:53 PM
This regkey (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DataAccess) HAS to exist on Win XP. I checked on two different XPs and it had it. Microsoft reccomends looking in this key to determine what version of MDAC is installed.

However, there is no way of installing MDAC (any version) on an XP machine. To install MDAC 2.7 Sp1, you have to install the XP service pack. Simply running the redist just won't work.

PilotBob
08-13-2003, 09:52 PM
Hence my problem. The key IS THERE, but InstallShield Exp $ refuses to see or find it. XP is fine, the problem is with whatever IS 4 is doing or where it is looking.

Chandima
08-14-2003, 10:57 AM
Looking at this thread I really can't see what you are trying to do. Do you just want the setup to fail if MDAC 2.7 is not installed?