PDA

View Full Version : Internet Connection Failure. Firewall?



MWalshe
11-21-2002, 11:37 AM
I'm trying to use the Check For Updates option in Professional 7 but I'm getting error stating that an internet connection is required. I'm operating from behind a corporate firewall, is this the problem here?

I'm after seeing what hot fixes are available but these only seem to be available via the 'Check for Updates' option.

1) Can I configure the update internet connection anywhere?

2) Is there another way of checking for updates?

Thanks max:(

Chris Woerner
11-21-2002, 06:39 PM
Most likely, this is not a firewall issues as the Update Service uses standard HTTP port 80.

More likely, it is a timeout issue. The Update Service is configured to timeout after 2 seconds when checking for an internet connection. Every couple of weeks, we get a posting like yours. We will be increasing the timeout period and making it configurable in our next release.

But lets find out that is your problem. Add this registry entry. It will fake the Update Service into thinking you always have a connection.

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\InstallShield\Update Service]
"IsConnected"=dword:00000001

Let me know if that works.

Paul D
11-22-2002, 01:00 AM
I have similar issues every so often, I'm behind a Cable modem connected to a Cable/DSL Router. I usually don't have problems, but every so often, I will get the "No Internet Connection". Usually hitting retry fixes the problems. I've had a few where I've had to wait over an hour before I could connect, but I'm guess that the ISUS server was down, or there was too much conjection on the Internet to that server at the time.

MWalshe
11-22-2002, 03:26 AM
I get the connection failure message almost immediately, less than 2 seconds I would say. Pressing retry just goes round the loop.

Adding the key registry does indeed change the behaviour. The update service now reports no updates where found for my application.

Surely this cannot be true. I've seen posts for hot fixes, which is what I'm after.

If as you say you receive regular posts about this problem, might I suggest that InstallShield make the hot fixes and program updates available via another route.

Steve_Deere
05-19-2004, 09:34 AM
Here's the funny part of this (like there is one), I have two machines side by side and configured the same, one with XP and one with W2K. Check for updates works on the W2K machine but not XP. The W2K machine was once XP and it didn't work there either. I tried the registry value above and it did change the behavior to an immediate failure.

There has to be some kind of defect here. I've install SP1 for DevStudio 9 on both machines but if check for updates is going to be the required way to get updates and if you can only have one copy of InstallShield installed, users need a reliable way to download and install updates.

If this is the same technology that is used in the field for the Update Service we would be providing to end users, no way would I want to spend the extra money to purchase something that doesn't even work for me.

Yes, we are behind a corporate firewall using a automatic configuration script. Same deal on both machines though and one works and the other doesn't.