PDA

View Full Version : Icomp.exe (illegal Operation)



NewsArchive
03-20-1997, 01:00 AM
Help!

Every time I run disk Builder I keep getting message box "illegal
Operation"

ICOMP caused an invalid page fault in
module ICOMP.EXE at 0137:00413f67.
Registers:
EAX=6666666a CS=0137 EIP=00413f67 EFLGS=00010212
EBX=0000001e SS=013f ESP=0065efb0 EBP=0000003f
ECX=004339d0 DS=013f ESI=00001204 FS=3297
EDX=0000001f ES=013f EDI=66666666 GS=470e
Bytes at CS:EIP:
8b 38 83 c0 04 89 39 83 c1 04 4a 75 f3 83 e6 03
Stack dump:
00433858 0043007c 00413a2f 00432848 00433848 00001204 00000100 00430a2a
0043007c 00000100 00000003 00434848 00000000 00001000 00000002 00413812


I have shut down all other programs, screen savers ect but keep getting
illegal operation.

I never have had a problem with any other compression programs whats so
special about icomp.exe

beats me.

thanks for you help in advance.

David Richardson
david@s133.aone.net.au
Australia

NewsArchive
02-22-2001, 01:00 AM
Ok, but I don't want the advertise feature!!!

I just want to make a shortcut to an exe file that will be
always installed during the setup.

Any ideas???


"Rune G" <rg#world-online.no> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:3a94cc75@12.41.20.38...
> You have created a shortcut that dosen't use the advertise functionality.
>
> Make sure that the advertise is set to yes, and the target isn't a
filepath.
>
> --Rune G
>
> "Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
> news:3a93c58f$1@12.41.20.38...
> > Hi,
> >
> > I have a shortcut created for my application.
> > When I validate my setup I get the following
> > error message:
> >
> > ICE43 Error Component Application has non-advertised shortcuts. It
should
> > use a registry key under HKCU as its KeyPath, not a file.
> > http://dartools/iceman/ice43.html Component Attributes Application
> >
> > I have no idea how to fix this
> > (what kind of registry setting do I need ???)
> >
> > Any help appreciated
> > Thanks
> > Frank
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
02-22-2001, 01:00 AM
Ok..

Does your component have any HKEY_CURRENT_USER registry settings?
If so set one of them as a key path (choose it, right click it and choose
Set Key Path)

Btw. Are you using IPWI 2.0 ??

--Rune G

"Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
news:3a94d678@12.41.20.38...
> Ok, but I don't want the advertise feature!!!
>
> I just want to make a shortcut to an exe file that will be
> always installed during the setup.
>
> Any ideas???
>
>
> "Rune G" <rg#world-online.no> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
> news:3a94cc75@12.41.20.38...
> > You have created a shortcut that dosen't use the advertise
functionality.
> >
> > Make sure that the advertise is set to yes, and the target isn't a
> filepath.
> >
> > --Rune G
> >
> > "Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
> > news:3a93c58f$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > Hi,
> > >
> > > I have a shortcut created for my application.
> > > When I validate my setup I get the following
> > > error message:
> > >
> > > ICE43 Error Component Application has non-advertised shortcuts. It
> should
> > > use a registry key under HKCU as its KeyPath, not a file.
> > > http://dartools/iceman/ice43.html Component Attributes Application
> > >
> > > I have no idea how to fix this
> > > (what kind of registry setting do I need ???)
> > >
> > > Any help appreciated
> > > Thanks
> > > Frank
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
02-22-2001, 01:00 AM
Well,

I don't have any registry settings under HKEY_CURRENT_USER. I don't use
any registry settings at all.
(Do I need e.g. set a dummy-entry ? But I don't want to do this because I
think
it is unnecessary)

I'm using ISWI 2.01


"Rune G" <rg#world-online.no> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:3a94ee35@12.41.20.38...
> Ok..
>
> Does your component have any HKEY_CURRENT_USER registry settings?
> If so set one of them as a key path (choose it, right click it and choose
> Set Key Path)
>
> Btw. Are you using IPWI 2.0 ??
>
> --Rune G
>
> "Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
> news:3a94d678@12.41.20.38...
> > Ok, but I don't want the advertise feature!!!
> >
> > I just want to make a shortcut to an exe file that will be
> > always installed during the setup.
> >
> > Any ideas???
> >
> >
> > "Rune G" <rg#world-online.no> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
> > news:3a94cc75@12.41.20.38...
> > > You have created a shortcut that dosen't use the advertise
> functionality.
> > >
> > > Make sure that the advertise is set to yes, and the target isn't a
> > filepath.
> > >
> > > --Rune G
> > >
> > > "Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
> > > news:3a93c58f$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > > Hi,
> > > >
> > > > I have a shortcut created for my application.
> > > > When I validate my setup I get the following
> > > > error message:
> > > >
> > > > ICE43 Error Component Application has non-advertised shortcuts. It
> > should
> > > > use a registry key under HKCU as its KeyPath, not a file.
> > > > http://dartools/iceman/ice43.html Component Attributes Application
> > > >
> > > > I have no idea how to fix this
> > > > (what kind of registry setting do I need ???)
> > > >
> > > > Any help appreciated
> > > > Thanks
> > > > Frank
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
02-23-2001, 01:00 AM
Then I don't have any other good suggestions..

It's not critical for your setup, it just vialoates against Logo
Requirements, so you could send out your setup anyway,
but it would be a problem to get Win2k logo for it.

Just a note.. If the .exe file you want a shortcut for is in the same
component,
I can't really see any problems with having an advertised setup.


--Rune G


"Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
news:3a95060a$1@12.41.20.38...
> Well,
>
> I don't have any registry settings under HKEY_CURRENT_USER. I don't use
> any registry settings at all.
> (Do I need e.g. set a dummy-entry ? But I don't want to do this because I
> think
> it is unnecessary)
>
> I'm using ISWI 2.01
>
>
> "Rune G" <rg#world-online.no> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
> news:3a94ee35@12.41.20.38...
> > Ok..
> >
> > Does your component have any HKEY_CURRENT_USER registry settings?
> > If so set one of them as a key path (choose it, right click it and
choose
> > Set Key Path)
> >
> > Btw. Are you using IPWI 2.0 ??
> >
> > --Rune G
> >
> > "Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
> > news:3a94d678@12.41.20.38...
> > > Ok, but I don't want the advertise feature!!!
> > >
> > > I just want to make a shortcut to an exe file that will be
> > > always installed during the setup.
> > >
> > > Any ideas???
> > >
> > >
> > > "Rune G" <rg#world-online.no> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
> > > news:3a94cc75@12.41.20.38...
> > > > You have created a shortcut that dosen't use the advertise
> > functionality.
> > > >
> > > > Make sure that the advertise is set to yes, and the target isn't a
> > > filepath.
> > > >
> > > > --Rune G
> > > >
> > > > "Frank Stegerwald" <fstegerwald@ann.com> wrote in message
> > > > news:3a93c58f$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > > > Hi,
> > > > >
> > > > > I have a shortcut created for my application.
> > > > > When I validate my setup I get the following
> > > > > error message:
> > > > >
> > > > > ICE43 Error Component Application has non-advertised shortcuts. It
> > > should
> > > > > use a registry key under HKCU as its KeyPath, not a file.
> > > > > http://dartools/iceman/ice43.html Component Attributes Application
> > > > >
> > > > > I have no idea how to fix this
> > > > > (what kind of registry setting do I need ???)
> > > > >
> > > > > Any help appreciated
> > > > > Thanks
> > > > > Frank
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
06-12-2001, 12:00 AM
Hi!

I am trying to create Icons. But somehow the Icons do not appear in the
Start/Program menu.

Here is the code i am using. The .ico file is in the folder as specified
in the code.

szProgramFolder = FOLDER_PROGRAMS+SHELL_OBJECT_FOLDER ;
//szProgramFolder ="";
szItemName = "xItem" ;
nIcon = 1;
szProgram = "";
szParam = TARGETDIR^"Samples\\System\\myurl.url";
LongPathToQuote (szProgram, TRUE);
LongPathToShortPath (szParam);
szCommandLine = szParam;
szWorkingDir = TARGETDIR ^ "Samples";
szIconPath=TARGETDIR^"Samples\\System\\myicon.ico";
szShortCutKey="";
if (AddFolderIcon (szProgramFolder, szItemName, szCommandLine,
szWorkingDir,
szIconPath, nIcon, szShortCutKey, REPLACE) < 0)
then
MessageBox ("AddFolderIcon failed.", SEVERE);
else
SprintfBox (INFORMATION, "AddFolderIcon", "%s created
successfully.",
szIconPath);
endif


I have a deadline to meet. Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance
usha

NewsArchive
06-15-2001, 12:00 AM
Here is how I do it maybe this will help I'm using IS6.2
// MYST 3 Desktop Shortcut
sShortcutCmd = TARGETDIR ^ "Bin" ^ @PRODUCT_KEY;
sShortcutCmdWD = TARGETDIR ^ "Bin";
LongPathToQuote( sShortcutCmd, TRUE );
sIcon = TARGETDIR ^ "Bin\\m3.exe";
AddFolderIcon( FOLDER_DESKTOP, @FOLDER_NAME, sShortcutCmd, sShortcutCmdWD,
sIcon, 0, "", NULL );

You can use the GUI and make shortcuts too and besure to check the component
to be associated with if you do it through the GUI


--
Deirdra
Red Storm/SSI
digitalpurple@home.com
"Usha Kolachalam" <usha.kolachalam@merant.com> wrote in message
news:3B26AD7E.8932B81@merant.com...
> Hi!
>
> I am trying to create Icons. But somehow the Icons do not appear in the
> Start/Program menu.
>
> Here is the code i am using. The .ico file is in the folder as specified
> in the code.
>
> szProgramFolder = FOLDER_PROGRAMS+SHELL_OBJECT_FOLDER ;
> //szProgramFolder ="";
> szItemName = "xItem" ;
> nIcon = 1;
> szProgram = "";
> szParam = TARGETDIR^"Samples\\System\\myurl.url";
> LongPathToQuote (szProgram, TRUE);
> LongPathToShortPath (szParam);
> szCommandLine = szParam;
> szWorkingDir = TARGETDIR ^ "Samples";
> szIconPath=TARGETDIR^"Samples\\System\\myicon.ico";
> szShortCutKey="";
> if (AddFolderIcon (szProgramFolder, szItemName, szCommandLine,
> szWorkingDir,
> szIconPath, nIcon, szShortCutKey, REPLACE) < 0)
> then
> MessageBox ("AddFolderIcon failed.", SEVERE);
> else
> SprintfBox (INFORMATION, "AddFolderIcon", "%s created
> successfully.",
> szIconPath);
> endif
>
>
> I have a deadline to meet. Can anyone help me?
>
> Thanks in advance
> usha
>
>

NewsArchive
07-10-2001, 12:00 AM
no it's set to -3

"Robert M. Dickau (InstallShield)"
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_e-mail_but_i_don't
@installshield.com> wrote in message news:3b4afe0b@12.41.20.38...
> Does your SetupInterrupted dialog box action (in the Installation User
> Interface sequence) have sequence number -2?
>
> "Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
> news:3b41cf57$1@12.41.20.38...
> > UserExit dialog/action not found in 'InstallUISequence' Sequence Table.
> > http://dartools/iceman/ice20.html InstallUISequence
> >
> >
> >
> > Does anyone how to fix this?
>
> --
> Robert Dickau
> InstallShield Software Corp.
>
>

NewsArchive
07-10-2001, 12:00 AM
Well, you might try changing the items at the top of the UI sequence to use
these magic sequence numbers:

SetupCompleteError -3
SetupInterrupted -2
SetupCompleteSuccess -1

"Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
news:3b4b0f32$1@12.41.20.38...
> no it's set to -3
>
> "Robert M. Dickau (InstallShield)"
> <i> wrote in message news:3b4afe0b@12.41.20.38...
> > Does your SetupInterrupted dialog box action (in the Installation User
> > Interface sequence) have sequence number -2?
> >
> > "Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
> > news:3b41cf57$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > UserExit dialog/action not found in 'InstallUISequence' Sequence
Table.
> > > http://dartools/iceman/ice20.html InstallUISequence
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Does anyone how to fix this?
> >
> > --
> > Robert Dickau
> > InstallShield Software Corp.

NewsArchive
07-10-2001, 12:00 AM
Thanks that's fixed it
Gaz


"Robert M. Dickau (InstallShield)"
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_e-mail_but_i_don't
@installshield.com> wrote in message news:3b4b10f5@12.41.20.38...
> Well, you might try changing the items at the top of the UI sequence to
use
> these magic sequence numbers:
>
> SetupCompleteError -3
> SetupInterrupted -2
> SetupCompleteSuccess -1
>
> "Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
> news:3b4b0f32$1@12.41.20.38...
> > no it's set to -3
> >
> > "Robert M. Dickau (InstallShield)"
> > <i> wrote in message news:3b4afe0b@12.41.20.38...
> > > Does your SetupInterrupted dialog box action (in the Installation User
> > > Interface sequence) have sequence number -2?
> > >
> > > "Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
> > > news:3b41cf57$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > > UserExit dialog/action not found in 'InstallUISequence' Sequence
> Table.
> > > > http://dartools/iceman/ice20.html InstallUISequence
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Does anyone how to fix this?
> > >
> > > --
> > > Robert Dickau
> > > InstallShield Software Corp.
>
>
>

NewsArchive
08-31-2001, 12:00 AM
Hi

I have the sequence table as below, but I stil get the ICE20 error.

Is there some other way of correcting this.
(Mulitiple Language (8) installation set.)


"Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
news:3b4b14d3@12.41.20.38...
> Thanks that's fixed it
> Gaz
>
>
> "Robert M. Dickau (InstallShield)"
>
<i_wish_i_had_time_to_answer_individual_questions_through_e-mail_but_i_don't
> @installshield.com> wrote in message news:3b4b10f5@12.41.20.38...
> > Well, you might try changing the items at the top of the UI sequence to
> use
> > these magic sequence numbers:
> >
> > SetupCompleteError -3
> > SetupInterrupted -2
> > SetupCompleteSuccess -1
> >
> > "Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
> > news:3b4b0f32$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > no it's set to -3
> > >
> > > "Robert M. Dickau (InstallShield)"
> > > <i> wrote in message news:3b4afe0b@12.41.20.38...
> > > > Does your SetupInterrupted dialog box action (in the Installation
User
> > > > Interface sequence) have sequence number -2?
> > > >
> > > > "Gareth Homewood" <beer@drink.com> wrote in message
> > > > news:3b41cf57$1@12.41.20.38...
> > > > > UserExit dialog/action not found in 'InstallUISequence' Sequence
> > Table.
> > > > > http://dartools/iceman/ice20.html InstallUISequence
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > Does anyone how to fix this?
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Robert Dickau
> > > > InstallShield Software Corp.
> >
> >
> >
>
>