PDA

View Full Version : How to incorporate Update Service in my ISDEV 7 application.

ndpxtn
09-26-2002, 02:24 PM
Hope someone can help me with this!

I'm very new with the whole Installshield application but I have ISDEV 7 and I'm trying to set up the Update Service to download the new file, if any, when the user launh the application. I had read the online help on how to set things up but I kept getting error "Product not register...".

Does anyone have any document show step-by-step on how to set this up? Greatly appreciated!!!

ndpxtn

Chris Woerner
09-26-2002, 03:44 PM
We have a recorded webinar that goes through the entire process step by step.

http://installshield.webex.com/installshield/playback.php?FileName=http://pso1.webex.com/FileMgt/installshield/020710_us.wrf

Let me know if you find this helpful.

ndpxtn
09-27-2002, 09:13 AM
Thank you for the information about the webinar.

However, when I tried to create the set up, I ran into problem with registering the Product Code. My ISDEV 7 environment is looks different than the one shown on the tutorial. So my question to you is how do I register the Product Code? How do I create a .reg file like you have the "salesview.reg" file?

Thanks for the help.

Chris Woerner
09-27-2002, 10:15 AM
If you don't see the Update Service node in the IDE of Developer that probably means that you have an older version of Developer. But no worries. You can manually register your product code by logging into the Update Service website directly. Once there, you will need to "add a product" and "add a version". That will register your product and version with the Update Service Notification server.

In terms of using a a reg file..... You don't need to do that. Your application can be coded to call the Update Service directly with your product code.