PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade with LaunchCondition modified failed



Ketchup
08-01-2006, 04:37 AM
Hi,

I have a Basic MSI project.I have some launch condition(Description\General Information\ProductProperties view Install Condition).Installing the product,everything is fine.Then before generate the next release I removed from the conditions one.After that the (minor)upgrade will not work.

The error is:
Internal error 2229., LaunchCondition, SELECT 'Condition', 'Description' FROM 'LaunchCondition'

ReinstallModeText = vedmus,so I expected to re-cache the local package.
Anyone can help me to resolve this problem?

Further information: the upgrade will failed in case of german language,for english it's working fine.

Regards,
Ketchup

RobertDickau
08-01-2006, 09:00 AM
Does validating the MSI package help? Is the LaunchCondition description string present in the German version?

Ketchup
08-01-2006, 10:17 AM
Hello Robert,

1.What do you mean "Does validating the MSI package help?"

2.Yes,the string is present in the German language version.

My condition is:

Condition: AdminUser
Message: {IDS_ERROR_115}You do not have sufficient privileges ...

IDS_ERROR_115 is by default present in any IS 11 BASIC MSI project.


Regards,
Ketchup

RobertDickau
08-01-2006, 10:24 AM
I'm referring to Build > Validate > Full MSI Validation Suite.

Ketchup
08-01-2006, 10:36 AM
I see.
Unfortunately in my Build menu, the text mentioned by you is greyed-out.This means that something is missing from my computer?
In IS 8.02 this line is active.

RobertDickau
08-01-2006, 10:39 AM
Validation works on the MSI database. Perhaps your current build compresses the MSI inside setup.exe? If so, you might make an uncompressed build for the sake of validation.

Ketchup
08-01-2006, 10:46 AM
No,the MSI it's not compressed in the setup.exe.

RobertDickau
08-01-2006, 11:05 AM
Hmmm... Is the validation option enabled if (as a test) you create another build configuration/release?

Ketchup
08-02-2006, 03:24 AM
Ok,after a day, the validation is working now.I have some errors and many many warnings but nothing relevant,I guess.I have some ICE 03,18,34,83.But nothing regarding Install Condition.

Any other idea?

RobertDickau
08-02-2006, 10:12 AM
How are you deploying the minor upgrade?

Ketchup
08-02-2006, 10:23 AM
Nothing special.Just rebuild the project after I made some modification.
Generate Package Code is set to 'yes'.
Product Code not changed.

RobertDickau
08-02-2006, 11:17 AM
I mean, what command line are you using to launch the major upgrade? Are you running setup.exe, or running msiexec /i up.msi REINSTALLMODE=vemus REINSTALL=ALL, or ...?

Ketchup
08-03-2006, 02:40 AM
We have no major upgrade at all.We don't use major upgrade, only minor.

RobertDickau
08-03-2006, 08:41 AM
Sorry, I mean, what command line are you using to launch the minor upgrade? Are you running setup.exe, or running msiexec /i up.msi REINSTALLMODE=vemus REINSTALL=ALL, or ...?

Ketchup
08-03-2006, 09:20 AM
Principally we use the setup.exe in order to upgrade our application,but if we use the .msi package then the upgrade command is something like this:

msiexec.exe /fvous "MSIFilePath"

RobertDickau
08-03-2006, 10:44 AM
As a test, does it make any difference if you run (the main difference being to use /i instead of /f):

msiexec /i path.msi REINSTALLMODE=voums REINSTALL=ALL

Ketchup
08-04-2006, 10:06 AM
I tested it,and still came the error.

RobertDickau
08-08-2006, 09:06 AM
As a test, does it work if you leave the condition in but ensure it always succeeds? Something like:

1 or (original-condition)

Ketchup
08-08-2006, 09:27 AM
The condition is "AdminUser" and I don't know if setting this property should be recommended.
But, I already use your idea at another(older -> "removed") launch conditions,I mean I ensure to evaluate the conditions always to true.This solution is worked.